Social media and its importance as a journalism major

5209796269_3b538042c8_o
Social media (https://flic.kr/p/8WnyVBby Sean MacEntee (CC BY 2.0)

As a journalism major, social media plays an integral role in my everyday life.

Each morning, like most twenty-year-olds, the first thing I do is reach for my phone. While I will admit, I scroll through Twitter and Facebook first, checking up on social media is not always about what I’ve missed from my peers throughout the night. It is about getting up to speed with what has happened in the world. It is taking that important first step in the day of any journalist.

I have several news apps on my phone and iPad but I also use Twitter as a tool to seek out breaking news. Twitter is becoming an increasingly popular choice for those wishing to consume news, especially as it updated promptly from news outlets across the world.

The micro-blogging platform is an invaluable tool as a journalist in the way that it lets you connect with your audience directly. It allows you to connect with them instantaneously, allowing for senior journalists to live tweet major events and keep followers in the know on important issues.

I have shared this video link before on a previous entry for ALJ215, but I think it’s excellent at pinpointing some of the key potentialities to how social media is altering the sphere of journalism. Twitter is just one of many platforms utilised by journalists in the 21st century.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

– C

 

 

 

One thought on “Social media and its importance as a journalism major

Leave a Reply

