The race to the White House and why I’m so obsessed with U.S. Politics

24562047646_7b8a3e3eaa_o.jpg
Hillary Clinton by Gage Skidmore (CC BY-SA 2.0)

It was well over 18-months ago now when I first found myself sitting in my journalism tutorial, refreshing the NBC News homepage for the announcement of whether former U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton would be running in the 2016 American Election.

I recall having to suppress a squeal of excitement when the news came through that Clinton would be taking another run for President of the United States, after a close attempt at winning the Democratic Party nomination back in 2008, when she defeated by residing President, Barrack Obama.

My journalism tutor made a habit of quizzing us at the beginning of each class on current affairs- trending topics in the news that we, as journalism majors, should have had some basic understanding of. When asked who was following the announcement of U.S. Presidential candidates, I found only three or four hands shoot into the air- one of them, of course, being my own.

How could my fellow peers not know what was happening?

A couple of weeks ago when I was visiting family back in my hometown, I was perplexed to find a similar attitude towards the nearly finished race to the White House.

The second of three debates had just aired that afternoon and was covered on almost every commercial television station, with highlights being replayed sporadically throughout the evening.

‘Why should we have to listen to it when it isn’t our own country’s election?’

This was the general response I received from my own parents, grandparents, and friends.

The reason why I care so much is because the outcome will not only impact Americans- it will impact the entire globe.

I will admit, I’ve spent the last year and a half following almost every second of the debate.

My diary was marked with the dates of major caucuses and primaries.

I watched on with much anxiety as candidates stepped out of the race as their numbers dwindled in comparison to others, checked American news websites religiously each morning and followed any live coverage I was unable to physically watch on television via tweets on Twitter.

So why have I found this so fascinating?

It’s because an election like this differs so greatly from our own.

It has been a rollercoaster full of sharp twists and turns; a ghost train where skeletons have been uncovered. Some of these reveals have been appalling, sending shockwaves around the globe- particularly those that have come to light in recent weeks.

But the ride is almost over and Election Day is fast approaching.

On November 8, Americans will decide who will get to reside in the Oval Office for the next four years.

Will it be Hillary Clinton who has thirty years of experience in public service that will claim victory?

I really, truly hope so.

Because if there’s one thing I can’t do, it’s imagining a man like Donald Trump in charge of America and specifically, in charge of issues such as national security and women’s rights.

He is a bigot and a sore loser.

In today’s third and final debate before America decides their new leader, Trump used vile and quite graphic language in defending his pro-life stance in regards to late-term abortion.

It made me feel even worse for those mothers and families that do have to make such difficult choices so late in a pregnancy. I am sure his comments will only receive further backlash in the coming days from a number of different parties.

He repeatedly referred to Hillary during the debate as a liar and a nasty woman, as well as continually interrupting her during her scheduled responses- all while still claiming he has immense respect for women.

Riiiiight.

Trump has claimed (once more) this past week that the U.S. Election is ‘rigged’ and that shows such as NBC’s Saturday Night Live are turning voters against his favour- a show that he himself hosted in late 2015.

He does not handle losing very well, as Clinton reinforced during the debate today.

During his time on Celebrity Apprentice, Trump claimed the Emmys were also ‘rigged’ as his show failed to win one of its three nominations.

Every time he loses or doesn’t get his own way, it’s ‘rigged’.

Is that the type of outlook the next President of the United States should have? I don’t think so.

It appears the Clinton has won the third debate- bring her total wins to three of three.

Can she make it? This gal sure hopes so.

There’s nothing more frustrating than seeing it all unfold and then remembering one thing- you can’t actually vote.

Get the popcorn ready because it’s not over yet folks!

Until next time,

– C

 

3 thoughts on “The race to the White House and why I’m so obsessed with U.S. Politics

  1. I’m similarly intrigued/perplexed/frustrated by the US election – even my parents have expressed some interest this year, which I think would be a first re. the American context… I share your concern re. Australian apathy to politics – the first time I ran ALC201 (ALC203’s younger sibling), I had a topic on digital media and politics/eLections etc. on the exact same week as the Australian federal election – one of my seminars was literally a day before voting. It had the poorest seminar turnout of the trimester, and the group of “active” students who showed up were mostly disinterested – I remember a lot of commentary vis-a-vis “there’s not really any difference between any of them…” 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does make me both sad and concerned that many of my peers and other fellow Australians show no interest in politics- whether it be our own nation’s or international.
      Glad to hear you are also intrigued by the U.S. Election, Adam!
      The race is almost over!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

