Chapter One of Twelve

happy-new-year
Happy New Year by Caitlyn Putt on Canva

Hello, dear followers and welcome to my first blog post for 2017!

New Year’s always stands as a time full of optimism and promise.

We’re turning to the first page of a blank book, page one of 365.

Nothing seems impossible, and many of us have made a list of our goals and resolutions for the year ahead.

We want to become more fit, less stressed and show more gratitude.

We want to cut back on our screen time and step outside more regularly, to admire the smaller things that we often take for granted.

However, even though we hate to admit it, we know that resolutions are short-lived.

We begin to hit snooze on our alarms, sneakers get kicked under our beds, diets go neglected and somehow, we start spending more time on our social media accounts.

Like most people, my past resolutions have failed and I have become more frustrated with myself as I’ve grown older.

Why is it so difficult to stick with a promise?

In 2016, I began the year with a small list in my phone’s notes section with things I thought were far more achievable: read more, write more and focus on the things that were going to get me to where I wanted to be when I entered my final year of university.

I made a list of the books I wanted to read and I finally committed myself to writing a blog. I decided I wanted to become more active online and experimented with new social media platforms which have only proven beneficial to my studies.

Trust me, when I first started this blog and began enhancing my online persona, I was a ball of anxiety. But in all honestly, it was one of the best things I did in 2016 and it was achievable. It was a simple and realistic resolution and I carried it through!

Now with 2017 beginning, I’ve decided to stick with my previous goals with just a slight twist. I want to read even more this year and broaden my reading horizons. I’m hoping to blog more frequently (hopefully once a week with my course load permitting) and experiment with new online media.

The trick with New Year’s resolutions is to keep them attainable and try to be patient.

And most importantly, forgive yourself if they start to crumble.

You can always try again in the morning. There are 365 days to go. Make them count.

What are some of your resolutions?

The beginning of a new year is also a great time to start thinking about tidying up/updating your social media platforms- so consider taking the opportunity to freshen them up now before work and university resumes.

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to like Caffeinated Words on Facebook!

Until next time,

– C

Leave a Reply

